Last Updated on February 5, 2022
Cost to Form an LLC in Maine
The LLC filing fee for standard processing is $175, which typically takes 5-10 business days. Expedited processing is available which shortens the approval process to 24 hours for an additional $50 or an additional $100 for 1-hour processing.
Steps to Form a Maine LLC
To get started forming a domestic LLC, download the Certificate of Formation (Form MLLC-6). Foreign LLC’s (only for an LLC that was formed in another state and wants to be located in Maine) will need to file a Statement of Foreign Qualification to Conduct Activities (Form MLLC-12) with the Secretary of State.
Step 1: Name the LLC
When selecting a name for your LLC, it’s important to do a Maine LLC name search before filing to ensure the name you want is available. In Maine, each entity registered with the Secretary of State must have a unique name.
In addition, the name of the LLC must include one of the following words or abbreviations at the end of the business name:
- Limited Liability Company
- Liability Company
Step 2: Filing Date
You may list an effective date if you would like the Limited Liability Company´s existence to become effective on a date other than the date of filing.
If an LLC is being created late in the calendar year and doesn´t expect to begin business until after the following year, delaying the start will save money and reporting.
Step 3: Designation as a low-profit LLC
The Secretary of State provides a designation as a low-profit LLC or L3C. The low-profit LLC is a business with a charitable or educational focus but doesn’t want or qualify for not-for-profit status. See more information about the Maine L3C Act.
Step 4: Professional LLC Designation
If any of the business activities require a professional license from the state, this box will need to be checked, and the type of professional service entered. Common licenses professionals need in Maine include accountants, attorneys, veterinarians and many more.
If your business does not need professional licensing, leave this box unchecked.
Step 5: Registered Agent
A Maine Registered Agent must be identified before forming the LLC. The Registered Agent can either be a Commercial or Noncommercial Registered Agent. If a Commercial Registered Agent was hired or you plan to hire one, their CRA public number and the name of their company must be entered. Visit the Bureau of Corporations, Elections & Commissions to do a Commercial Registered Agent search.
A Noncommercial Registered Agent can be a member (owner), friend, family member, attorney, etc. The Registered Agent must have a physical address (PO Boxes are not allowed) in the state to act as a point of contact to receive legal documents, tax notices, summons, subpoenas, etc. on behalf of the LLC during business hours. There is an option for a mailing address in addition to the physical address, should you want mail going to a different address.
Step 6: Registered Agent Consent
Before a Registered Agent can be selected, they have to consent to serve as the Registered Agent. Nothing is required to fill out in this step.
Step 7: Other Matters
If there are other rules and regulations the members want to LLC to be bound by, those can be attached as additional exhibits. Most LLCs skip this section.
Step 8: Signature
Have an individual authorized to sign contracts to sign and date the Certificate of Formation. This is typically a member.
Step 9: Filer Contact Cover Letter
The filer contact cover letter (3rd page of the pdf) needs to be filled out and sent along with the Certificate of Formation. Enter:
- Name of the Entity – Make sure to match the name entered on page 1.
- Type of Filing – Enter “Certificate of Formation”
- Special Handling Request and Fee – If you want faster processing, indicate the option by checking the appropriate box.
- Contact Information – This can be any person, member, or non-member, that can answer questions should the Secretary of State need answers during processing.
- Address – This does not have to be any of the addresses listed earlier. This address is where the filing will be returned.
Step 10: Pay and Submit
Submit payment and mail the Certificate of Formation to:
Secretary of State
Division of Corporations, UCC and Commissions
101 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0101
If you have questions, contact the Maine Secretary of State by phone at
207-624-7752 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.